Volunteers get reward for efforts

VOLUNTEERS from various local community organisations have been recognised for their outstanding contribution to the community.

At a special presentation for the volunteers, Federal MP for Watson, Tony Burke, praised their efforts which he said were “so valuable to the community”.
He says the various and much needed services they provide help those in need and also those in the community who require specialised services such as child care, playgroups, welfare and counselling services.
“I would like to recognise those volunteers who have selflessly given their time to the community, year in and year out. The last thing volunteers seek is official recognition. However, I believe that recognising the work of these individuals is important and well deserved.”
A big “thank you” to Mohammad Rauf – Arakan Rohingya Development Association-Australia; Guo Rong Xiao, Lucy Zhang, Huijuan Peng – Asia Women at Work; Jordan Montgomery-Smith, Toufik Harradj, Cherif Mazouz – Australian National Sports Club Inc; Munir Hosain, Shuvra Mustarin – Bangla Hub Inc; Tamanna Rahman, Noor- e Muhammad Sazeeb, Md Shahriar Reza Amin – Bangla Music & Dance Academy; Anna Fizzell, Mahmuda Begum, Hardip Sembi – Canterbury City Community Centre; Emmanuel Nanos, Norma Atkins, Joan Antoniou – Canterbury Meals on Wheels Inc; Zhaofeng Ding, Elaine K Lau, Wing Fai Ho – CASS Care Ltd; Kuan Hung Chen, Lanny Then, Kwai Chun Yeung – Chinese Australian Services Society Limited; Fotis Stringas, Caliope Doumanis, Panagiota Rahiotis – Greek Orthodox Parish and Community of Belmore and District; George Jabboury, Harry Vo, Sobhi Sleiman – Greenacre Area Community Centre; Mohammed Marzouk, Narmeen Sherif, Syda Hossain – Human Appeal Australia; Hana Hajjar, Dianna Tram, Ayda Abu Zalaf – Islamic Women’s Welfare Association; Christian Abou-Rizk, Amanda Trassieh, Sabrina Hami – Maronites on Mission; Anil Shrestha, Ghanendra Raj Phiyak, Dinesh Kumar Lama – Nepalese Federation Society Australia; Abul Kalam Azad – Nobodhara News Inc; Margaret Ross, Sally De Dear – Participate Australia Limited; Myra Fitzgerald, Yan Min Miao – Riverwood Community Centre; and Abul Kalam Azad – White Ribbon Bangladesh.