Unsung heroes rewarded

Padstow Rotary president Julie Harris and Vocational Services director Tony Luck with the Service Officer of the Year winners.

EVERYDAY heroes who put the needs of others before themselves, nine emergency services personnel have received recognition at Padstow Rotary Club’s Service Officer of the Year awards at Bankstown Trotting Club.

The awards recognise the contribution of emergency services personnel in keeping the community safe. 

Padstow Rotary had invited the commanding officers from NSW Police, NSW Fire and Rescue, NSW Ambulance, State Emergency Services and St John Ambulance, to nominate an officer who had excelled in their duties.

The winners were Katie Bennett – Bankstown Police, Marcus Hunziker – NSW Ambulance Bankstown Super Station, David Cross – Fire and Rescue Bankstown Station, Ross Weller – Bankstown State Emergency Services, Brett McCarthy – Bankstown St John Ambulance, David Chandler – Revesby Highway Patrol, Allan Simpson – Police Transport Command, Stephen Waddington – Police Regional Enforcement Command, and Lindsay Court – Ambulance Aero Medical Bankstown.

Dave Cross Photo: Radim Cechvala

Based in Bankstown for the last 10 years but working for Fire and Rescue for 29 years, Mr Cross said the local station was one of the busiest in the state and there were different challenges every day.

“Bankstown is also an accredited rescue station so were are involved in the full range of incidents – from attending motor vehicle accidents, industrial accidents and rescues as well as domestic rescues,” he said.

“I am just doing my job so to be nominated for an award came as a surprise and to win it was even better.”

Padstow Rotary President Julie Harris said the winning officers were specially selected as an elite group of individuals who through their efforts had not only lead by example, but improved the quality of life of everyone they had encountered while serving in the community.