MP acknowledging youth for community service

EDUCATION Minister and Federal MP for Blaxland, Jason Clare, has recognised the outstanding efforts of local students at his 15th Annual Community Service Awards Ceremony held at Western Sydney University’s Bankstown City Campus.

“These awards recognise students from schools across Blaxland for the outstanding work they do in our local community. They have all done something special that makes them a local hero,” Mr Clare said.
“They include Kiara Montgomery, Year 5 student from Milperra who fundraised for the Mark Hughes Foundation and donated her ponytail to Sustainable Salons, following her aunty’s battle with brain cancer.”
“As well as Charlotte Hall, Year 12 student from Mount St Joseph Catholic College who leads MSJ’s Sustainability Squad and the Wildlife Warriors team, while volunteering her spare time at Taronga Zoo.
“I congratulate and thank all the students for their efforts to uphold this tradition.”
Community Service Award Recipients: Bankstown Girls High School, Fizza Naveed; Bankstown North Public School, Nicole Nguyen; Bankstown Public School, Isha Kaba, Omar Sharadgah; Bankstown Senior College, Katrin Akhtiar; Bankstown West Public School, Eleni Rakasi; Bass High School, Nicholas Spyropoulos, Amir Al Hilu; Birrong Boys High School, Bashier Ali, Zacharia El Jamal; Birrong Girls High School, Surayah El-Hassan; Birrong Public School John Habib; Chester Hill Public School, Hamada Dib; Condell Park High School, Jafar Hamed; Condell Park Public School, Nahia Rifahi; Georges Hall Public School, Nadia Abou Duhun; Georges River Grammar, Sebastian Steliou, Imogen Collis; Granville South Creative and Performing Arts High School, Hanna Aakataa; Milperra Public School, Kiara Montgomery; Mount St Joseph Catholic College, Charlotte Hall; Sacred Heart Catholic Primary School, Eric Nguyen; Salamah College, Adam Ali, Saad Mohammed; Sefton High School, James Ang; Sefton Infants School, Makeen Al-Khateeb; Sir Joseph Banks High School, Tevita Lauaki-Ngata; St Euphemia College, Rafaela Gianna; St Felix Catholic Primary School, Benjamin Vella; St Mary’s Catholic Primary School, James Ghanem; Villawood East Public School, Wayne Shaw; Wattawa Heights Public School, Lucas O’Grady; and Yagoona Public School, Jodie Dang.
Christmas card competition winners: St Felix Catholic Primary School, Angela Ni; Bankstown Public School, Linh Nguyen; and St Brendan’s Catholic Primary School, Celine Nguyen.