High rollers in ‘Bling FC’

☐ Milos Ninkovic with season pass holders Peter and Nathan Stevens at Jubilee Stadium.

SYDNEY FC has won four A-League Championships, three Premierships, one FFA Cup and won the Oceanian Champions League prior to Australia moving into the Asian Football Confederation.

Prior to the 2018-19 A-League Season, the club’s home ground was Allianz Stadium, a 45,500 seat rectangular multi-use venue in the suburb of Moore Park. With that stadium scheduled for demolition and rebuilding, the club will be playing at the Sydney Cricket Ground, Leichhardt Oval and Jubilee Oval until its completion scheduled in 2022.
Despite the club’s migration, The SCG Trust agreed to renew Sydney FC’s lease at Moore Park for a further 10 years in May 2017.
As the only A-League team in the city for the first seven years of its existence, the club’s fans hail from all across the Sydney Metropolitan Area. Since its establishment, Sydney FC has had a reputation for signing high-profile players. In doing so, they have received the nickname ‘Bling FC’ from fans and pundits alike.
Notable players who have represented the club include Dwight Yorke, Juninho Paulista, John Aloisi, Brett Emerton, Lucas Neill, Marc Janko, Filip Hološko, Miloš Ninković, and Alessandro Del Piero.